Accessibility View Close toolbar

Phases of Degeneration

Phase I

The first phase of subluxation degeneration sees the basic and normal curve of the spine alter. This doesn’t necessarily represent damage, but it is a symptom of changing space between the discs. Generally this phase goes unnoticed because it carries no pain. However, proper chiropractic care can diagnose this issue and stop further misalignment and degeneration.

Phase II

Phase II of vertebral subluxation sees the Phase I misalignment continue further, with spaces between the discs beginning to narrow, the patient’s range of motion beginning to limit, and certain stiffness and aches developing. At this point, prior damage may be irreversible, but chiropractic can help to restore function to near-normal levels.

Phase III

At phase III, proper healthcare is essential or spinal fusion begins. Disc damage has by now become permanent, as has the abnormal curvature of the spine. Degeneration continues to worsen, but chiropractic can still slow or even stop the degeneration and relieve many of the symptoms you might be experiencing.

Phase IV

This is the final stage of subluxation degeneration. At this point, you experience a marked decrease in the quality of life, and longevity is lessened. Neurological and bone damage previously suffered are permanent and the vertebra are fused. Range of motion may be severely limited and a number of other health issues may present.

Contact Us Today

We look forward to hearing from you

Office Hours


10:00 am-1:00 pm

3:00 pm-7:00 pm


3:00 pm-6:00 pm


10:00 am-1:00 pm

3:00 pm-7:00 pm


10:00 am-1:00 pm

3:00 pm-7:00 pm